4.3 TYLER HANNA – Urbain

Background

I logged into Facebook in order to distract myself from writing these marketing blogs and I found the advertisement below on my sidebar. Writing a blog on Urbain seemed like a no-brainer. I love supporting North Central students, especially North Central business students.

Urbain-2

The Four P’s

Product: The product that Urbain is offering through this ad is an email subscription to Urbain news and deals, which is intangible. The consumer has an added incentive to sign up for Urbain news by receiving 16% off. The ad doesn’t specify if the 16% off is for all future Urbain purchases or just a one time discount. Regardless, it is still an incentive to get consumers to subscribe.

Price: The price to sign up for an Urbain e-subscription is free.

Place: The consumer is able to receive email updates sent to their inbox by giving Urbain their email address. Urbain also makes a promise to never spam the consumer, which is a good practice. It also allows the consumer to feel more comfortable with handing over their email address to Urbain. Overall, it makes sense to ask for a consumer’s email address online. Email = online.

Promotion: The channel that Urbain is using to reach me, the consumer, is Facebook. This is an excellent channel for Urbain, because they are an e-commerce business. So, the purpose of this advertisement is two-fold, as I see it. 1. Obtain email addresses from previous customers and 2. direct traffic to their website. Almost 2 billion people are on Facebook. It was a no-brainer for Urbain to utilize that particular platform.

Target Market

The target market for this specific ad is people that have liked the Urbain Facebook page. Which includes me and 1,169 others. I know this because it says so in the ad! “Now that you’ve liked our page, we want you to join our community!” Facebook’s hyper-targeting options allow one to narrowly define the type of person (demographics, interests, likes, etc.) that will see the ad. This is beneficial, especially if Urbain has data on their target market. It is also strategic because if a consumer has “liked” Urbain’s page in the past, then they would probably like to keep up-to-date with the company. There is evidence of interest there.

Does It Work?

Eh, I’m not totally convinced that this advertisement works. First, people are generally leery of subscribing to things using their email, simply because there are so many companies that spam their inboxes. Secondly, 16% isn’t that big of a number. And if I recall, Urbain products are not cheap. For example, 16% of a $200 product would be $32, which would equal $168 for the final total. That is a “meh” discount in my mind. But I guess it is just for my email information… hmmm, like I said, I’m not entirely sold. I guess I would have to see how many emails I receive from Urbain on a weekly basis and then determine if that cost outweighs the benefit of a 16% discount. Regardless, I’m not entirely convinced that this deal is worth it. I would like to see Urbain utilize an unbelievable discount. One that employs the value formula (Value = Benefit > Cost). I don’t know what that looks like for Urbain, but that is a deal that I know would be worth it.

Leave a Reply

